WFPI Council

Officers (Executive Committee)

President: Wendy Lam (AOSPR)
Queen Mary Hospital, Hong Kong

Treasurer: Rutger Jan Nievelstein (ESPR)
University Medical Center, Utrecht, Netherlands

Past President: Gloria Soto (SLARP)
Clinica Alemana de Santiago, Chile

 Vice Treasurer: Richard Barth (SPR)
Lucille Packard Children's Hospital, USA

   Vice President: Omolola Atalabi (AfSPI)

College of Medicine University of Ibadan /
University College Hospital Ibadan. Oyo State Nigeria

  Co-opted Director
WFPI Founding President:
 Maria Ines Boechat
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, USA


Secretary: Jaishree Naidoo (AfSPI)
Charlotte Maxeke Johannesburg Academic
Hospital, South Africa

   Co-opted Representative, Image Gently Alliance: 
Kimberly Applegate
University of Kentucky, USA
  Vice Secretary: Cristian Garcia (SLARP)
Hospital Clinco Universidad Catolica, 
Santiago, Chile


  Co-opted Representative, 
Past Executive Director:
Amanda Dehaye



Digital Education Leader: 
Sanjay Prabhu
Boston Children's Hospital, USA


Outreach Leader: 
Cicero Silva
Yale New Haven Hospital
Yale School of Medicine, USA

        TB Leader: 
Kushaljit Singh Sodhi

PGIMER, Chandigarh, INDIA

  MRI protocol Leader: 
Michael Gee
Mass General Hosp
Harvard, USA

Representative Directors
(here's their role)



Khaled Aboualfotouh Ahmad    


Gladys Mwango     


Bernard Laya


Timothy Cain

ESPR   Erich Sorantin    Eva Kis

Celia Ferrari


Alexandra Monteiro


 James Donaldson


Rebecca Stein-Wexler


















Members of WFPI's ExCom, being

Ines Boechat (SPR) 
Veronica Donoghue (ESPR)
Wendy Lam (AOSPR)
Dorothy Bulas  (SPR)
Gloria Soto (SLARP)
Rutger Jan Nievelstein (ESPR)
Jaishree Naidoo (AfSPI)
Tim Cain (AOSPR)

  • Version I: approved by all Founding Society boards and adopted in June 2012
  • Version 2: approved at WFPI's Annual General Meeting, June 2014
  • Version 3: e-ballot passage, June 2015


Leader: Cicero Silva

Overview and steering of WFPI outreach work is currently provided by WFPI's Executive Committee (key Council members).

Project leaders:

  • Childhood TB group: Bernard Laya
  • Ultrasound in lower resource settings: Savvas Andronikou
  • Indira Ghandi Institute of Child Health, Bangalore, India: Cicero Silva
  • Khayelitsha Hospital, Western Cape, South Africa: Savvas Andronikou/Stanford University (Richard Barth)
  • Latin America: network development, tele-reading installation with health facilities in Peru, Colombia, Guatemala: Ramon Sanchez
  • Malawi: teaching and tele-reading support (focus: PoC US), development of future partnership with Imaging the World: Tracy Kilborn, Julie Hurteau, Sabine Béllard
  • Médecins Sans Frontières/Doctors without Borders: Savvas Andronikou
  • Laos: Cicero Silva/Michael Reiter - RAD AID
  • Bustamante Children's Hospital, Jamaica: Cicero Silva [Pamela Deaver]
  • Ethiopia: Kassa Darge
  • Mozambique: Ines Boechat and Ricardo Faingold
  • Haiti: Dorothy Bulas, Jennifer Nicholas, Rebecca Stein-Wexler


  • Joint Statement was issued by RAD-AID, WHO-PAHO and WFPI in September 2014 for future outreach and education work. Dr. Hansel Otero acts as WFPI's liaison physician for the WFPI-RAD AID interface.
  • Imaging the World and WFPI are moving forward together on PoC ultrasound research and pilot projects - see here.
  • For other organizations involved in lower resource settings and imaging, please click here and here

Workforce Training/ Education:


Dorothy Bulas, lead, (SPR)
Sanjay Prabhu (SPR) - webmaster, online video library, Case of the Week
George Taylor (SPR) - chair, online video library steering committee
Cicero Silva (SPR) - outreach leader
Savvas Andronikou (AfSPIR/SFIPP) - outreach leader 2012-2015
Bernard Laya (AOSPR) - TB Corner, Childhood TB
Quentin Moore (associated with IG) - webpages
Kassa Darge (SPR) - Ethiopia, curriculum
And all our many volunteers involved in outreach projects (including telereading)
that overlap with education and workplace training.


Erich Sorantin  (ESPR)

Sanjay Prabhu (Webmaster)

Online meetings - technical support: 

Tim Cain (AOSPR), Sanjay Prabhu (SPR), Cicero Silva (SPR), Erich Sorantin (ESPR), Amanda Dehaye (WFPI), Jennifer Boylan (SPR) 

Fundraising Advisor

Stuart Royal (SPR)



Sanjay Prabhu (SPR)



For more info....


Read all about WFPI here